I came across  intriguing posts on social media the last couple of days ; all I can say in my heart is I need to change my thinking and attitudes.

Most of my fundamental beliefs about myself were terribly wrong , it was mostly based on how people related to me. Catch me on a good day,  after I’ve received many compliments or spent time with loved ones. Catch me on a bad day, when no one has bothered to check up on me or someone decides to ridicule me.

When my mind reflected on my talents, I never acknowledged  I had anything substantial, anything valuable that could be used for the kingdom. I know you are probably thinking I was indulging in self-pity, well yes I was, but not anymore.

Yes, I am constantly surrounded with talented people, God has blessed me enough to put me in the midst of such people. The truth was I allowed jealously to reside in my heart. Later, jealously became frustration as I was focusing on all the talents I didn’t have instead of focusing on the talents God has assigned for me.

The lesson I learnt was everyone’s talent is as important as the next, none is greater than the other. All is used for the same purpose; Christ (Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ  1 Corinthians 12:15 ). I love the way the amplified bible explains these verses:  1 Peter 4: 10-11″ Just as each one of you has received a special gift [a spiritual talent, an ability graciously given by God], employ it in serving one another as [is appropriate for] good stewards of God’s multi-faceted grace [faithfully using the diverse, varied gifts and abilities granted to Christians by God’s unmerited favor].11 Whoever speaks [to the congregation], is to do so as one who speaks the oracles (utterances, the very words) of God. Whoever serves [the congregation] is to do so as one who serves by the strength which God [abundantly] supplies, so that in all things God may be glorified [honored and magnified] through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.

To aid self development an individual has to create time to plan, reflect and analyse their thinking, beliefs and attitudes.

2 thoughts on “#Thoughtsforthisweek

Leave a Reply

